Beginner Running Programs

RunningI have been interested in trying to get back into running again. When I ran, I was a LOT younger. Now, not so much. I didn’t want to just go out and see what I can do. I wanted something that gave me a plan. So I looked around and found a couple different plans. Even just glancing over them, they seem attractive to new runners. Nothing overwhelming to scare anyone away, but based on the upticks, you’d be able to see improvements.

The first place I looked for a program, was Runner’s World.  This eight week program, is designed to get non runners to be able to run for 30 minutes without stopping by the end.  I really like it.  It’s six days a week with 2 of those days (for the first 6 weeks at least) strictly walking.  The workouts consist of a mixture of walking and jogging (I always say “yogging” from Will Farrell in Anchorman, hehe).   

The second place, I didn’t actually find. I saw on the message boards over at My Fitness Pal that people are using the Couch to 5K plan.  This I finally found over at Cool Running.  This program is a nine weeker, with the goal of being able to run 3 miles by the end of it.  This program is only 3 days a week, and has a similar running program of walk/run combos.

I’m personally going to start with the Runner’s world program, because distance isn’t a goal of mine.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beginner Running Programs

  1. Pingback: Just joined another gym today… « My Fitness Blog

Leave a Reply

