Just Purchased – Garmin Forerunner 305!

garmin-forerunner-305I’ve been wanting one of these for a while now.  I have a couple of friends that have them, and seem to really like them.  Suzy from the Bourbon Chase also had one (she had the 405 as well) that she let Tim use during his legs.  Logan (the Ironman) had the 310, but that one was a little out of my price range.

I picked up the 305 this evening from Best Buy for $149.99.  Not a bad price.  What I like about the 305, is it has some extra features for those into multisports.   I can later pick up a bike attachment for my bike that will show me my cadence.  I can also get an optional “foot pod” for when I need to run indoors.  The foot pod is a little expensive, so for my indoor running, I think I’ll stick with the Nike+iPod system.

The 305 does come with a chest strap to record your heart rate.  This wasn’t a big deal since I already have the Polar F11.  It has worked well for me, and I will continue to use that for my strength training, and non mulitsport cardio.

I have it charging right now, and I won’t be able to really try it out until my half-marathon I’m doing on Sunday.  I will try to right up a review on Sunday after I run though, to let you know how it held up for me.

This entry was posted in Purchases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Purchased – Garmin Forerunner 305!

  1. Keisha says:

    I will let you know how it goes with me on saturday. My wrist is slender so I went to wally’s world to get a velcro strap hopefully it will stay on.

  2. Adam says:

    I love, love, love my Garmin. Too much? I’m not a huge fan of the software that comes with the unit or the Garmin Connect website for that matter.

    I use Sport Tracks: http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTracks/ and sync that with my buckeyeoutdoors training log at buckeyeoutdoors.com

    Enjoy it!

  3. DJ JustJohn says:

    Thanks for the info Adam. I haven’t tried even loading the software yet. I will probably get to it this weekend. I’ll also look into the other one as well. I love keeping track of all of my fitness activities, and the easier it is, the better!

  4. Pingback: My first half-marathon « My Fitness Blog

  5. e says:

    I was gonna get one of these too!! Ok you just made me excited to get one!

  6. Pingback: Rodes City 10K completed this morning « Fit Johnny

Leave a Reply

