Who needs a gym?

This is no slam on exercise facilities.  Heck I belong to one, and getting ready to join the YMCA.  They serve a purpose, but to be honest, have never done anything for me.  I felt out of place and insecure.  That’s not the type of way you want to feel when you wanna get your exercise/sweat on!

I found my way around this, and that is with Beachbody DVDs (Power 90 & P90X specifically).  No, this isn’t an advertisement for me to try and get you to buy shhh from me.  What I’m saying is, the gym isn’t for everyone.  Not only that, it’s kind of expensive.  There is also an initial cost to the Beachbody programs that I do.  So what about the people who don’t want to spend that money, or who can’t spend that money.  Here’s some things that I have been looking at recently…

Crossfit – “CrossFit is the principal strength and conditioning program for many police academies and tactical operations teams, military special operations units, champion martial artists, and hundreds of other elite and professional athletes worldwide.”

These are real world workouts.  I have been really itching to start the “workout of the day” (WOD).  But with my P90X workouts, I haven’t been able to.  I plan on it starting in the spring.  Talk about getting fitness, this will do it.

For those wanting to become fitness trainers, they also list all the certification classes on the main page.  They have a LOT, and from the looks of it, they sell out quickly too.

If anyone out there is currently doing Crossfit workouts, please comment and tell me/us about them.

Also, check out this video of some ladies working out (I’m in love, btw)

On-Demand Workouts – These can be had from cable TV operators, or online.  I came across one from this month’s Triathlete Magazine, ExerciseTV.tv . Now not everything is free on this website, but some are.  And you can’t beat free!

Cable channels like Fit TV are also a good option.  Unfortunately, your workout program of choice might be when you aren’t available, but who doesn’t have a DVR now-a-days (me!).  If you don’t have Fit TV, then I feel for you.  No where else can you get Shimmy, and Namaste Yoga (which is the best show ever to sleep to, just sayin).

If you are a gym rat, then be a gym rat.  There is nothing wrong with that.  It just isn’t for everyone.  So for those that aren’t, maybe I just showed you a couple of different options.

This entry was posted in Beachbody, Doing something!, Video, Weight Training, Workouts, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who needs a gym?

  1. Scott says:

    Johnny – stop wasting your money on all those infomercial gimmicks! Yes people see results from them because they finally get off their rumps and do some real physical activity…but what happens when you get done with all the discs…right back to feeling complacent. Do yourself a favor and drink the Kool-aid…that’s right…I’m talking about CrossFit. ‘Constantly varied function movements preformed at high intensity’…that is Crossfit. The great thing about CF is that it’s an open source community meaning the WODs are posted daily in the web site (as well as a majority of the affiliates). No fee and most of the workouts can be done anywhere. All CF workouts are scalable to your fitness level…what make them effective is how much intensity you bring to the table. I don’t know where you live, but if there is an affiliate near you, CALL THEM and see what it is like. Most offer a free workout usually on the weekend – in the box (gym) or at a local park. I am a total beliver in CF. Been doing it for over 2 yrs and am stronger and in better shape than I have my whole life…and I don’t belong to an affiliate (none near me)…I have a garage gym that suits me fine. Seriously, it’s not like other gyms where you feel out of place…it’s more like a family atmosphere because everyone is suffering the same wod together as a group. Surf the main site and do more research on the theory behind CF and make that call…you will not be sorry!

  2. DJ JustJohn says:

    Hi Scott. I’m a big fan of Crossfit. I hope to one day be able to afford to go the an affiliate gym here, but it’s 100 a month, and that’s steep. My current needs call for me to have a gym with a swimming pool, so I have to splurge for the YMCA at $52 a month. I do feel like Crossfit is geared toward people like me (aspiring athlete), and professional people (firemen, policemen, etc), as well as people who want to perform at a high level of “something”.

    I would hardly call the programs I use as “infomercial gimmicks”. Power 90 was a beginner workout that I needed to help take the pounds off. P90X made me stronger. A LOT stronger! Insanity, IS high intensity. Just like you, I am stronger and more fit than I have been in my whole life (and I used to be very active), because of these programs.

    Luckily, there is room for all different types of exercise! Some work well for some people, and others for other people. As long as people push themselves, and eat right, then I think they are moving in the right direction.

    I thank you for your comment and visit! Anytime you wanna chime in, please do!

Leave a Reply

