New Running Shoes!

I haven’t been real happy for a while with my running shoes.  I have tried several pairs, but nothing really seemed to work right.  The last pair, after only a few weeks, really irritated my IT band (Iliotibial band).  I had to take all last week off from running and Insanity for it to heal completely.

I decided I wanted to get some expert opinion, so I head to Fleet Feet.  They do video analysis of your running to suggest a proper shoe for your gate (running form).   They measured my feet 4 different ways, and brought me 4 pairs of shoes to try.  I was able to run on the treadmill with each pair.  I finally settled on the Mizuno Wave Rider 13s.  What’s nice is, if I don’t like them after having them for a bit, I can take them back and try a different pair.

This entry was posted in Purchases, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Running Shoes!

  1. For someone your weight and speed of your mileage, I don’t know if the Mizuno ‘Wave Rider would be the best fit for you. I would suspect you would need something a little more supportive, like at least a stability shoe. Fleet Feet are a good shoe store and they do have knowledge, but sometimes I think they just look at your feet and not at the person. Many times I have had to correct a person’s shoe type, because of this.

  2. DJ JustJohn says:

    You might be right. That’s another reason I’m glad I went to Fleet Feet. If they don’t work out, I can return them to try a different pair. I do appreciate your input, and you taking the time to post!

  3. I really wish they could do something like this for high heels 😉

    I hope they workout for you. I have my crappy on sale adidas and my right foot KILLS during lunges. But, I’m not jarring my body for miles at a time like you.

  4. Keisha says:

    the reason I know the asics 21(50) were the right shoes for me is because I went to two different shoe stores and each time they recommended them for me. I like the support they give my flat feet. i remember when they were 2110s. now it’s 2150.

  5. TiffNash says:

    I know Fleet Feet fit me with the perfect shoe that completely enhanced my run. But more importantly…they look good 🙂

Leave a Reply

