My first triathlon recap

I didn’t have extreme expectations for the day, which is good, because I didn’t do extremely well 🙂  First, to get started, this was the Indy Sprint series, race #1.  It’s a 500 meter swim, 10 mile bike, and a 3 mile run.  The course is located in Eagle Creek Park on the west side of Indianapolis (close to the Indianapolis Colts practice facility).  There was a pre-race meeting set to start at 7:30, and I was barely entering the park at that time (long story involving passing the exit, heading back, and not being able to make the exit on the way back).

Once I got to transition, I was good, since the meeting hadn’t started yet.  I set up my rack, which was convenientlylocated next to the swim exit (YES!).  Once I got it set up, I met up with Michelle.  We took some nice photos with the help from Tiff (who made all the photos and the everything possible for the weekend).  Once the announcements and cheezy music stopped, we headed over to swim start to get our swim on.

So this will be my first open water swim.  This will also be the first time I wore a swim cap.  I’m just trying to find out if I look like an idiot with the damn thing on.  I’m standing there, watching all this hoopla before it starts, just trying to figure out why I’m so damn calm.  I mean, I could freakin drown out there.  Oh well, let’s do it.  They start lining up based on the number you were assigned.  I’m “374”.  So I have about 5ish minutes, as they send people out every 2 seconds.

I’m watching people line up, and Michelle is in the low 200’s so she leaves before me.  I start watching and listening to the numbers that should be in queue.  and finally I’m to line up.

Still working on this, so check back…

This entry was posted in Races, Triathlons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first triathlon recap

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Indy Sprint Series – Race 1 | Foland Fitness

Leave a Reply

