Tri-Indy this Sunday – First Olympic

I finally pulled the trigger and signed up for this race.  I had to actually, because I’ve been telling people for weeks that I’m doing this race.  I was going to make the Music City Triathlon in Nashville my first olympic distance race, but I missed the cheaper price (due to being a procrastinator), and this one was just so much more convenient and CHEAPER!

This race is a 1500 meter swim, 40K bike, and a 10K run.  The swim is actually in the canals in downtown Indianapolis.  So that should make a very interesting swim.  The water is 4 feet deep, and spectators can walk along the swim route cheering you on the whole way.  The bike and run course both should be fairly flat (= fast).

Like the title says, this is my first race at this distance, so I’m not expecting to break any records.  I do hope to have a decent swim, bike about an average of 18-19 mph, and the run is a crap shoot – let’s say I’m hoping for a 9 min mile average.

My bib # is 348 and my swim start is aprox 7:51.  I’m hoping for under 3 hours 🙂  Weather should be nice too!  I hear it’ll be about 83 degrees.  If you’re in the area, come cheer me on.

This entry was posted in Races, Triathlons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tri-Indy this Sunday – First Olympic

  1. Tiff says:

    Ahhhhh..can’t beat “cheap convenience”? But, you can still drown in 4 feet of water, so BE CAREFUL! You’ll murder the run because you’re definitely “faster than I am” :p

    Good luck and godspeed!

Leave a Reply

