Review: Fuelbelt Revenge R3O

I picked up the Fuelbelt Revenge R3O at VO2 Multisport this past week.  A couple of weekends ago, Lipstick Runner and I went to the Knobstone Trail to get in a 6 mile run.  It was hot that day, and our original plan was to run early in the morning.  We didn’t get to the trail until the afternoon.  Bad idea.  With only a little over a mile into the trail, I wasn’t feeling it.  Actually, I was TOTALY feeling it!!!  The heat.  We went just passed mile 2 and turned around (due to a downed tree), but I was barely running anyway.  I knew we needed a way to hydrate in order to keep those instances at a minimum.

So, like I said, I went to VO2.  My original idea was to get a handheld of some sort – kinda like this.  After speaking with Jeff (the owner), and what I planned on using it for, he suggested the R3O.  His thinking was, if I took a tumble on the trail holding a bottle of water, there goes all of my water.  Good point.

So we headed to Knobstone Trail early this time.  Filled up the three bottles with water once we got there (wanted them to be cold when we started), and I attached the belt to my waist.

So we ventured out on the trail.  We are both having a decent run.  We had to stop at mile 1 so Lipstick Runner could take a leak.  I grabbed a bottle and took a quick drink and easily put it back in it’s holder.  We are off again.  While running, the heat wasn’t as bad, but once you stop, you definitely can tell it’s summer.  We stop again at mile 3.  I finish off my bottle and LR grabbed another.

As we headed back in, we sipped on the last bottle a little once LR had to stop due to almost falling (did Jeff jinx us?).  Luckily, she wasn’t hurt, so we continued on.  Under a half mile left back to the car, I take a tumble (Damn you Jeff!!!).  Jeff was so right.  A handheld would have totally bitten the dust.  I did roll a little on the belt, but none of the bottles were compromised.

If you are in need of a hydration system, I would definitely recommend a Fuelbelt purchase.  It stayed in place on my waist.  Didn’t bounce around and it fit well.  It was a comfortable run.

This entry was posted in Purchases, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

